What is Singapore’s smart nation initiative?

What is the Smart Nation initiative?

A Smart Nation means people and businesses are empowered through increased access to data, more participatory through the contribution of innovative ideas and solutions, and a more anticipatory government that utilises technology to better serve citizens’ needs. Find out more about our Smart Nation initiative here.

Who is in charge of Smart Nation?


SNDGG is led by Permanent Secretary Mr Ng Chee Khern and Deputy Secretary Mr Tan Kok Yam. SNDGG is overseen by a Ministerial Committee made up of the following members. For information on SNDGO press materials, please visit the Singapore Press Centre.

When was the Smart Nation initiative?

Singapore’s Smart Nation initiative was launched by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on 24 November 2014. In financial year 2017, the government set aside $2.4 billion to support the initiative, which involves the government purchasing services from technology startups rather than offering grants to support them.

Why is Singpass required?

Launched in March 2003, Singapore Personal Access (or Singpass) allows users to transact with over 60 government agencies online easily and securely. … Users should also play their part to protect their account and personal information.

What is a smart city what smart cities do you know?

In general, a smart city is a city that uses technology to provide services and solve city problems. A smart city does things like improve transportation and accessibility, improve social services, promote sustainability, and give its citizens a voice.

THIS IS AMAZING:  Your question: What is the best cellphone in the Philippines?

Which is the smartest country in the world?

The OECD used data, including adult education level, to determine the world’s smartest nations. Based on this data, Canada was listed as the most intelligent nation. Japan placed second, while Israel came in third. Other high-ranking nations include Korea, the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, and Finland.